Obituaries

Mr Euan Henderson

  • Cremation Service
  • Tue 9th Apr 2024

Mr Walter Baxter

  • Funeral Service
  • Thu 4th Apr 2024

Mrs Mary Lind Reilly

  • Funeral Service
  • Wed 3rd Apr 2024

Mr Graham Dillaway

  • Funeral Service
  • Tue 2nd Apr 2024

Mr Robert McGregor

  • Cremation Service
  • Thu 28th Mar 2024

Mr David John Ingram

  • Funeral Service
  • Thu 28th Mar 2024

Mrs Edna Angus

  • Cremation Service
  • Tue 26th Mar 2024

Mr George Reid

  • Funeral Service
  • Mon 25th Mar 2024

Mrs Elizabeth Lawrie

  • Funeral Service
  • Fri 22nd Mar 2024

Mrs Mary Hendry

  • Cremation Service
  • Thu 14th Mar 2024

Mr Donald Robertson

  • Funeral Service
  • Tue 12th Mar 2024

Mrs Marie McConachie

  • Cremation Service
  • Fri 8th Mar 2024

Attending a funeral FAQs

View all FAQs >

What should I wear?

We normally associate wearing black with going to a funeral. But it is increasingly typical for families to express a preferred dress code. Our advice is to look out for information from the family in a notice published either in newspapers, online or in the funeral director window to advise you of their preference.

How long does a service last?

Typically a service in most churches or crematoria lasts around 20-30 minutes. A formal mass may take a little longer and we would expect this to be nearer an hour. Finally, burials can vary in length as they are weather dependent.

Where should I sit?

Family and close friends typically reserve the first couple of rows in a service. We recommend sitting nearer the front than the back of a service space in order to support the family and enabling late arrivals to discreetly fill back rows.

Where should I send flowers?

Often a family will express a preference for flowers - or charity donations in lieu of flowers. We recommend you keep an eye on notices posted in newspapers, or online or in the funeral director window so you are able to follow their wishes.